Each year the Miami Dance Festival presents an award to honor the unsung heroes who have made significant contributions toward the advancement of dance in the South Florida area. 

Previous Festival awards have been presented to: Deborah Margol, Deputy Director of the Miami-Dade County Department of Cultural Affairs; Laura Bruney, Director of the Arts and Business Council, Dr. Diane Brownholtz, educator at Miami Dade College, dance teacher and coach Mariana Alvarez; the team of people who made the development of the Byron  Carlyle Theater possible: Nancy Liebman, Brad Judd, Jose Smith, Eric Fliss, & Bernard Zyscovich; dance teacher and community activist Florene Nichols; dance teacher and creator of the Miami International Ballet Festival Pedro Pablo Pena; Dance Supervisor for Miami Dade County Public Schools Virginia Shuker; Artistic Director of the Thomas Armour Youth Ballet Ruth Weisen, Bill Doolin of the Florida Dance Association, and the Performance Journalism Project.



The Miami Dance Festival has been made possible with support from: the National Endowment for the Arts, the Florida Department of State Division of Cultural Affairs, the Miami Dade County  Department of Cultural Affairs and the Board of County Commissioners, the Miami Beach Cultural Arts Council and the City of Miami Beach Mayor and Board of Commissioners, the Children's Trust, Citizens Interested in Arts, WLRN Public Radio, Miami Dade College Wolfson Campus Department of Arts and Philosophy, , the Miami Beach Botanical Garden, the Miami Beach Cinematheque, Irreversible.